ISO 9000: 2015

This international standard provides fundamental concepts, principles and vocabulary for quality management systems (QMS) and also provides the basis for other QMS standards. It is expected to help the user understand the quality management concepts, principles and vocabulary so it is able to effectively and efficiently implement a QMS as well as getting value from other QMS standards.

The standard proposes a well-defined QMS, based on a framework that integrates concepts, principles, processes and established fundamental resources related to quality for helping organizations reach their objectives. It can be applied to all organizations, regardless of their size, complexity or business model. It aims to increase awareness in organizations of their tasks and their commitment to meeting the needs and expectations of its customers and stakeholders, reaching satisfaction with its products and services.

Said standard contains seven principles of quality management supporting the fundamental concepts. Each quality management principle provides a “statement” that describes the principle, a “rational basis” that specifies why the organization should treat this principle, “key benefits” that are attributed to the principles, and some “possible actions” the organization can undertake when the principle applies.

The ISO standard contains terms and definitions applied to QMS standards developed by the Technical Committee ISO/TC 176, and to other sectoral standards based on those previously mentioned, at its publication moment.

Software ISO 9001:
Family of standards on quality management

ISO 9000 are a set of standards that establish guidelines to achieve a certain quality of the final product or service, but they also establish a correct and efficient quality management system. In the beginning, these standards were devised for companies that produced a material product, so the application of ISO 9000 was not properly suited for companies that provided services. This situation was sorted out through the modifications and updates introduced in the year 2000, so there are no more excuses to apply the ISO 9000 to any industry type.


The ISO 9000 contains guidelines to follow for reaching quality objectives established for each case, as well as the tools that must be implemented to reach them, the definition of distribution deadlines and the requirements for the ISO 9001 standard certification.

The set of standards made up by the ISO 9000 family is divided in:

ISO 9000

Quality fundamentals and vocabulary. Provides different related terms and quality guidelines for management systems.

ISO 9001

Management system model and its requirements. This is the only standard of the ISO 9000 family in which an organization can be certified as desired.

ISO 9004

Guidelines for improving performance and achieving introducing continuous improvement.

ISO 19011

Gathers useful information for guiding the company on quality and environmental management system audits.

  • This international standard describes the fundamental concepts and principles of quality management that are universally applicable to:
    • companies seeking success supported by the implementation of a quality management system;
    • customers seeking to trust the ability of an organization to provide regularly products and services according to their requirements;
    • companies seeking confidence in their supply chain and that their product and service requirements are met;
    • companies and stakeholders seeking communication improvement through a common understanding of the vocabulary used in quality management;
    • companies performing conformity assessments regarding ISO 9001 requirements;
    • Providers of training, assessment or consultancy on quality management.
    • Those developing related standards.

This international standard specifies the terms and definitions that are applied to all quality management standards and quality management systems developed by the Technical Committee ISO/TC 176.